San Joaquin Valley Regional Blueprint

The San Joaquin Valley Blueprint process began in 2006. Merced County Association of Governments, in coordination with the Great Valley Center, led the Valleywide Blueprint effort on behalf of the San Joaquin Valley planning organizations. The eight Valley regional planning agencies or COGs participated in the Valley Blueprint: including the Council of Fresno County Governments (Fresno COG), Kern Council of Governments (Kern COG), Kings County Association of Governments (KCAG), Madera County Transportation Commission (MCTC), Merced County Association of Governments (MCAG), San Joaquin Council of Governments (SJCOG), Stanislaus Council of Governments (Stan COG), and Tulare County Association of Governments (TCAG).

With funding from the California Regional Blueprint Planning Program, the Valley COGs prepared separate countywide blueprints, which were then consolidated into a single Valleywide Blueprint. The process included three major phases:
  1. Values and Vision
  2. Goals, Objectives, and Performance Measures
  3. Evaluation of Alternative Growth Scenarios
On April 1, 2009, the San Joaquin Valley Regional Policy Council, the decisionmaking body for the Valleywide process, approved Scenario B+ and 12 Smart Growth Principles, concluding the San Joaquin Valley Blueprint planning process. The Valley Blueprint is a vision for the future of the San Joaquin Valley, in which less land is consumed for development, more resources are preserved for future generations, distinctive communities are enhanced, and more travel choices are available.
Official Website of KCAG